Salt of the Earth


by The Hard Working People Project

The Hard Working People Project was produced by Sara Hickman to bring awareness to the fact so many of us are working tirelessly and courageously during this time of covid. From mail carriers, nurses, doctors, grocery store employees, mom & pop shop owners, garbage collectors, non-profits, protestors, teachers, neighbors… you. Sara & The Hard Working People Project wanted to say we see you, we hear you, we love you, we are you. We are all in this scary time together and music can bring us hope, healing and love.

Share and dedicate to a hard working person in your life.
Proceeds from the digital audio track download benefit a number of non-profits. Learn more about their work at

Physically Distanced… Socially United


Akina Adderly
Billy Harvey
Gina Chavez
Rosie Flores
Ruthie Foster
Guy Forsyth
Jeska Forsyth
Terri Hendrix
Lili Hickman (Flora & Fawna)
Sara Hickman
Craig Hella Johnson
Bubba Hernandez
Phoebe Hunt
Shelley King
Darin Murphy
Trish Murphy
Gary Myrick
Carrie Rodriguez
Carolyn Wonderland


John Bush (percussion)
Guy Forsyth (saw, harmonica)
Bubba Hernandez (bass)
Sara Hickman (acoustic guitar)
Eddy Hobizal (piano)
Warren Hood (violin)
Matt Johnson (drums)
Danny Levin (string arrangements, viola)
Michael Longoria (drums)
Gary Myrick (slide, electric guitar)
David Pulkingham (acoustic guitar)
Carrie Rodriguez (violin)
Brian Standifer (cello)
Brannen Temple (drums)
Kathy Valentine (bass)
Jackie Venson (electric guitar)
Carolyn Wonderland (electric guitar)
Red Young (organ)


Produced & Arranged by Sara Hickman
Engineered by Eddy Hobizal, Treehouse Recording Studio
Additional engineers Marty Lester/Everywhere Audio, Austin, TX (for Sara Hickman); Matt Gruber/Thermal Power Recording, Glendale, CA (for Gary Myrick); John Bush, Austin, TX (for himself & Bubba Hernandez), Mason Ables (for Lili Hickman)
Outro mix arranged by Eddy Hobizal
Bubbacam operator José Mata
Video compilation AMP, Dallas, TX
Video design and production Gene Cowan/Cowan Creative
Salt shaker drawn by io hickman

Special thanks to the Paramount Theatre/Maica Jordan for kind use of their marquee, to Robert Luna for putting up all the letters, and to io hickman for her camerawork!


To all the musicians who lovingly shared their time & incredible talents! To Eddy for jumping on board to be my partner on this project! To Lynne Dobson for being a fantastic sister! To Sandy Abernethy, Russ Johnson and all at AMP Creative; Devin Pike, thank you lil bro! And to Gene Cowan for being patient and putting this video together.


To Sara, my amazing friend who asked me to collaborate with her on this project — what an incredible experience! To all of the musicians for your time, generosity and phenomenal talent; and to Sandy, Russ and everyone at AMP Creative; to Gene Cowan for making the video shine — Thank You!


All the hard working people around the world. We all deserve to be heard, to receive a living wage, to have a home of our own. Everyone deserves a safe, healthy and war free environment with intelligent, compassionate leaders who, truly, care about our freedoms (and don’t waste our time, money or emotional energy.) We have the right to create the peaceful, inclusive and joyful world we want to share. Love, Sara

“Salt of the Earth” written by Mick Jagger & Keith Richards
© 1968 / Renewed 1996 by ABKCO Music, Inc.

© Sleeveless Entertainment (2020)
901 9th Street
Smithville, TX 78957

all rights reserved

To top